top of page

Lessons learned in motherhood

Hi Beloved Ones!

Have you learned some key lessons recently that you are desiring to share and release for His glory?

I love to share stories and make lists of things I have learned. I also love to hear other’s hearts and journey’s so please do respond and share what you have learned in your latest season. I will put a list together and hope to share again here soon! We all have something to give and to inspire with our lives in Him.

Here is my list of some lessons learned that have been coming to mind lately. They are from this time of motherhood from the last 5 years. I had so many experiences in life by the time I became a mother at 33 yet nothing has compared. It is my greatest honor and reward next to knowing Jesus and loving my husband.

The two things I have grown in most is Patience and Self-Control in moments of the unexpected. I had no idea how much I was lacking until given the opportunity to grow more! God is so patient and kind with us, never in a hurry to get us to maturity but enjoys the journey with us. He absorbs my anxiousness, my sin and imperfections, causing me to trust, lean and love Him more.

The third thing I have to share is the purpose of my days. When I first became a wife and mother I felt this pressure and what I thought was purpose to clean. There is so much cleaning to be done; laundry, dishes, bathrooms, floors, etc. What I find more peaceful these days is my purpose in making all things beautiful. It’s subtle but so different. The girl’s and I started adoring the Lord for turning messes into beauty. It helped me better partner with Him in the messiness and not wait for cleanliness to find joy. Every day there is messiness and I look at it as “this is it! this is the good stuff! my job and purpose to transform messes” to find the beauty in it. My job is not to keep life neat and tidy but to meet with Him and find His creativity in it all.

When my daughter was in cloth diapers, I used to sit with a laundry basket trying to put them together. Two inserts and one cover made for a big mess, especially when she was helping me. We began calling it her “diaper art” and found joy in cloth diaper pieces being stretched all over the house. She enjoyed herself so much and we enjoyed watching her “help mommy”.

Then the next season came along. The “many emotions” season. The beauty in the messiness was calling her forth as one who is patient and has self control (in Him, a fruit of the Spirit) and not giving up. Any plans I have for the day are not as important as sitting with my child who is struggling emotionally and me saying to her “I am not giving up on you, I will sit with you and find the creativity of God in this moment”. He empowers us with choices. He gives me wisdom and grace in the unexpected messy moments of my day to bring forth His beauty.

The beauty of my current season, that brings me to tears is watching Rose empower Nola and myself. “Mommy, do not give up on her”. “Nola, you can do hard things, you can choose love in your heart”.

What are the top 2-3 things you have learned most in the past 5 years? I would love to hear them!

In Him,

Ruth

EndFragment


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page